Need to Install Outlook Add-In as User through SCCM

Topics: Archive - General
Mar 17, 2014 at 1:02 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm pretty new to the PS App Deployment Toolkit and have run into an issue with using SCCM. I have a situation where we are trying to install the GlobalMeet Toolbar for Outlook (Audio Conferencing Solution). The toolbar needs to be run as the user so it installs to the correct profile. If I run the Application-Deployment.exe elevated locally as my user account, it works perfectly. When we push it out with SCCM as described in the document, the user will see the prompt to close Outlook and get the installation progress window and balloon notification, but after a few minutes the installation fails. It looks like SCCM is trying to run the package as SYSTEM, but because it has to be run as the user, it is failing. If we tell SCCM to run it as the user account, it doesn't have the access to do so. It seems like we are stuck in a permissions loop.

Has anyone ever ran into a similar situation or have any suggestions? Just a side note, I'm not the SCCM administrator so it's possible that it was not set up properly. I will be checking that first thing tomorrow.

Thanks in advance!
Mar 19, 2014 at 12:54 PM
Did you create it as an application or a package?
Did you have installation behavior for user, and only run while user is logged on?
Also I would put in Show-InstallationWelcome -CloseApps "outlook.exe"
Mar 19, 2014 at 1:15 PM
It was created as a package as per the Admin Guide and the package is set to run only when the user is logged in. I basically followed the Adobe Reader example from the guide. The Show-InstallationWelcome -CloseApps is part of the pre-installation step and it works great if I run locally on my computer with local admin rights.